Joseph F. O'Donnell Early Career Investigator Award

AACE established this Early Career Award in 2014 to honor the beloved Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of Cancer Education, Joseph F. O'Donnell MD, after he retired from his editorial post.

Joseph F. O’Donnell, MD: educator, physician, mentor, husband and father. Dr. O’Donnell is a long standing member of the AACE and has held numerous positions including that of President of AACE and Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of Cancer Education. His service to the AACE was recognized in 2007 when he was awarded the Margaret Hay Edwards Award. His medical career has included service as Chief of Medical Oncology at the White River Junction VA Hospital, Associate Dean for Student Affairs at Dartmouth Medical School (DMS), and Senior Advising Dean and Director of Community Programs (DMS). Joe is known as a man of compassion, insatiable curiosity, and wisdom. It is in his capacity as a mentor to early investigators that this Award is named in his honor. Dr. O’Donnell first came in contact with the AACE during his fellowship training. This experience instilled in him a lifelong commitment to cancer education and passing along the mentorship he received to other young investigators.

Each year, the Editorial Board of the Journal of Cancer Education chooses an attendee of the International Cancer Education Conference who is in their early career and who is presenting a work focused in cancer education to receive a travel scholarship to attend the conference.

Selection for 2018

The Joseph F. O’Donnell Early Career Investigator Award will provide a grant, not to exceed $1,500.00, to support attendance to the International Cancer Education Conference (ICEC) to present papers, posters or creative work focused in the area of cancer education for a candidate in the first five years of his/her first faculty appointment or equivalent. This program provides financial assistance to U.S. and international applicants. Applications are now closed.

Please review the eligibility requirements and selection criteria before applying.




2018 No applicants selected 
2017 Ezinne Ogbureke
2016 No applicants selected 
2015 No applicants selected 
2014 No applicants selected
See also the R. Davilene Carter Young Investigators Presidential Prize that was awarded in 2010 and discontinued.